Mothering takes patience

7/27/12 Mothering takes patience…

My 20 month old and I went grocery shopping today…after running a few errands.  By the time I plopped my daughter into the shopping cart – she had had it.  There was no way she was going to sit quietly in the cart while I shopped.  So I took her out and said “You can shop with Mommy like a big girl and hold my hand.”

She walked alongside me as we went up and the down the aisles.  Grocery shopping was slightly more stressful as I was a bit paranoid she would run off from me.  And it took twice as long since her little legs don’t walk as quickly as mine.  But she sang and babbled the whole time saying “Hi!” to each employee and feeling proud to be a big girl walking next to Mommy.  A little patience goes a long way.

Leave a comment