Your Deodorant is SCARY

Most of  us use some form of antiperspirant/deodorant every single day.  Antiperspirants block sweat from escaping through our underarms and we love them for this – no one wants to be the stinky girl.  But sweating is actually a good thing because it’s our body’s natural way of releasing toxins.  Blocking this process holds evil toxins captive in our bodies.  It leaves our body more prone to infection and affects our pH balance.  But if we sweat, we’ll stink, right?  No, sweat isn’t the stink.  The process of bacteria breaking down the sweat is what stinks.

Most antiperspirant/deodorants on the market include active ingredients such as aluminum and triclosan.  Aluminum forms a temporary plug within the sweat duct that stops the flow of sweat to the skin’s surface.  Triclosan is an antibacterial agent used to prevent indigenous bacteria from thriving on your armpit.  Together, these ingredients form a fail-safe system to keep us from stinking.  But at what cost?

Aluminum has been shown to cause DNA mutation and may contribute to the development of breast cancer according to the National Cancer Institute.  Triclosan is a hormone disruptor capable of changing the sex of fish.  The FDA doesn’t have sufficient evidence to prove that triclosan is hazardous to humans, but they’ve admitted concern and it’s currently under review.

I know what you’re thinking.  You don’t want to increase your risk of breast cancer or potentially become a hermaphrodite, but you certainly don’t want to be the stinky girl.  I totally agree.  For the last few months, I’ve been using my toxic Degree antiperspirant/deodorant sparingly – only on big nights out or doing physical activity.

But Friday, I received a natural deodorant that has changed my life.  I was a skeptic at first.  I read about unbelievable claims that it eliminated body odor from 100% of testers; that it smelled amazing like mint chocolate chip ice cream; that it effectively prevented body odor without any toxic ingredients; and that it cost $13.  I reluctantly spent 4 times more than I usually do on deodorant because I just had to try it.  I’m so glad I did because I’m never going back.

It worked.  Even though it did not prevent me from sweating, I did not stink.  And it really does smell like minty deliciousness.  But best of all, I can pronounce each ingredient – organic coconut oil, organic beeswax, organic shea butter, organic cocoa butter, aluminum free baking soda, organic arrowroot powder, organic tea tree essential oil and organic peppermint essential oil.  It’s non-toxic and it really works – I honestly was not expecting to be blown away by an organic deodorant, but I was.

If you’re going to pay a price for modern conveniences such as deodorant, wouldn’t you rather dish out $13 every few months than pay with your health?

http://www.shop.wildorchidbaby.com/Organic-Dodorant-60015.htm

Leave a comment